July 29, 2015


To: President Tony Frank

From: Sue James on behalf of the President’s Commission on Women and Gender Equity

Subject: Proposal for additional ex officio member

In keeping with the charge given to the President’s Commission on Women and Gender Equity to represent the constituents at Colorado State University and create an environment that supports and recognizes all individuals, the Commission would like to propose the following change to the listed ex officio members:

Currently, as stated in the charge, the Commission includes four ex officio members:

Diana Prieto, Executive Director, Office of Equal Opportunity and Human Resource Services

Mary Ontiveros, Vice President for Diveristy

Kathy Sisneros, Director, Women and Gender Advocacy Center

Caridad Souza, Director, Center for Women’s Studies and Gender Research and Department of Ethnic Studies

The Commission would like to propose that the position of Associate Director of Human Resource Services – currently held by Tracy Hutton – be added as an ex officio member.

The Commission feels that the addition of this ex officio member will be a beneficial connection to Human Resource Services that will allow the Commission to better carry on its work in a productive manner and ultimately fulfill its mission.  Attached to this memo is a breakdown of the whole Commission membership outlined in the charge, with the proposed change in red.  If you have any questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to let us know.  With your approval, we will move forward with this change.

Membership of the President’s Commission on Women and Gender Equity as Outlined in Charge (suggested changes in red)

14 voting members:

5 Faculty Members

  • Sue James, Chair
  • Kelly Curl

Chair of the Standing Committee on the Status of Women Faculty

  • Irene Vernon

3 State Classified Members

  • Kelly Hixson (CPC rep)

3 Administrative Professional Members

  • Joanna Holliday (APC rep)
  • Becca McCarty (treasurer)
  • Lorie Smith

1 Undergraduate Student


1 Graduate Student

  • Mimi Houston

5 Ex Officio Members:

  • Office of Equal Opportunity, Diana Prieto
  • Vice President for Diversity, Mary Ontiveros
  • Women and Gender Advocacy Center, Kathy Sisneros
  • Center for Women’s Studies and Gender Research, Caridad Souza
  • Human Resource Services, Tracy Hutton

Copy of Recomendation