Charge and Structure

The President’s Commission on Women and Gender Equity is charged to assist in the creation of an environment at Colorado State University that fosters healthy relationships and interactions among people.  Such an environment is one in which both women and men feel safe, freed from limitations and restrictions of culturally defined gender roles, and empowered and supported by the University in pursuing their goals.

The Commission is charged to monitor campus issues and development in light of local and national trends and to forward recommendations, concerns and program ideas in support of its charge through the Diversity Coordinating Council, for consideration in institutional planning and budgeting efforts.  The Chair of the Commission will serve on the Diversity Coordinating Council.  The Commission is also charged to meet annually with the University President to review issues and concerns related to the status of women at Colorado State University.  The University will support the Commission by assuring access to information and individuals that are vital to the success of its efforts.

Structure of the President’s Commission on Women and Gender Equity

The Commission is composed of 12 members, 6 standing and 6 at-large who serve staggered two-year terms.  Standing members are:

  • Assistant to the President (ex officio);
  • Vice Provost (ex officio);
  • Director of the Office of Women’s Programs and Studies;
  • A representative from the Office of Equal Opportunity;
  • Human Resource Services Coordinator for Training and Development;
  • Chair of the Women’s Studies Interdisciplinary Program

At-large members will be appointed by the President from a slate of individuals proposed by the Diversity Coordinating Council, in consultation with the Office of the President and the Chair for the Commission.  Members will be chosen for their knowledge of women’s issues and concerns, interest in promoting gender equity and leadership.  At large-members will include a graduate student and an undergraduate student.  At least two at-large members including the Commission Chair, must be tenure-track faculty.

For those occasions when the Commission must respond quickly, an Executive Committee comprised of the Chair, one standing member, one at-large member and one member of the teaching faculty may act for the Commission.  Any such actions must be reported to the entire Commission at the next regular meeting.

The Commission will expect to draw freely from campus and community individuals when the expertise needed to address its issues is not otherwise available.